Cucumbers and Tomatoes

Apparently today is the day for cucumber and tomato salad!  I had initially wanted to make green bean and tomato “salad” but I had some logistics issues that prevented me (I had no green beans).  Since I had tomatoes on the brain, of course the next logical partner was cucumber!

I’m not exactly sure who decided this simple combo of two common veggies was so delicious, but I hope they realized their genius.

Anyway, I swear I didn’t copy Raven… I had the same idea on my own!

I won’t go into the rest of the meal… just the salad.  Also, as a random side note to this topic – I think this salad is great on top of cheeseburgers, too.  I’d rather put a couple scoops of this on my burger than a piece of lettuce and a tomato.  But that’s me.

What we’ll need…

  • Tomatoes (sliced up however you want)
  • Cucumbers (sliced and diced how you want)
  • Olive oil
  • Garlic (garlic powder if you want)
  • Salt (if you want)
  • Pepper (you get the drift)
  • Parsley (for the look)
  • Celery salt
  • Oregeno (if you want)

If you can plan it this way, mince the garlic well in advance and let it soak in the oil.  I didn’t do this as it was a last minute idea, but I try to if I get the idea early enough.  Make sure you mince the garlic real well unless you like chunks of garlic (I don’t).  Cut up the veggies to whatever size you want.  There’s no right or wrong way to do it.  One little tip for presentation purposes, I like to peel cucumbers in a way that there’s a stripe of skin left on them… see the pic to see what I mean.  It’s so simple, but makes it fun.

There’s two ways to serve this.  You can either throw all the ingredients into a big bowl and let people serve themselves.  This would work if you were making a shitload for a BBQ or something.  Or you can cut up the veggies and let people put them into their own bowl.  Either way, you’ll prepare it the same way for the most part.

On to the dressing…

The dressing for this is pretty customizable.  I added the garlic to the oil first (if you don’t prep it early, at least do that first and then cut your other veggies).  After that it’s adding whatever spices you want to your preferred taste.  I added a little bit of salt, some black pepper, parsley, oregano and some celery salt.  Mix it all up.  You can then either leave it in a bowl or add it to your big bowl of vegetable goodness.

That’s it!  It’s wicked easy and seriously pretty hard to mess up.

~ by NJC on June 2, 2011.

One Response to “Cucumbers and Tomatoes”

  1. Oh just admit, you copied! 😛 …Looks great Nick!

Leave a Reply

 
