Cheddar Baked Chicken

Baking chicken is a ridiculously easy way to make chicken.  Not cutting, very little cleaning, just 30 ish minutes in the oven and it’s ready to be stuffed into your face.

I love cheese, so I decided to add some cheddar to my normal baked chicken.

I followed the same recipe as my easy baked chicken to start.  After the chicken was pretty much cooked, I added some shredded cheddar cheese on top.  I set the oven to broil to get the cheese melty and a little crispy on top.  How much cheese is up to you – but for me more = better.  Be sure to keep tabs on the chicken and don’t broil it so long where you dry out the chicken.  The chicken will probably be cooked enough while baking.  The broiling is really just for the cheese.

Looking back on this, I do wish I added some more color.  Perhaps pepper strips under the cheese?  I had left over ears of corn as a veggie so that didn’t help.  Normally I’d pick something red or green to add color to the plate.  Anyway… here it is!

~ by NJC on April 8, 2011.

2 Responses to “Cheddar Baked Chicken”

  1. I love cheese and I never thought to put a little cheddar on top of my chicken before. Brilliant. Nice post.

    • I wouldn’t go so far as to say “brilliant” but I appreciate it! It’s really something I should have thought of years ago, but never did.

      I think I am going to try to dice up some peppers, onions, tomatoes, etc and make almost a nacho layer on top next time. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

 
