The food’s wicked pissah heah guy

Let’s face it – it’s not possible to prepare every meal you eat at home.  Over the last few weeks Soph and I have had a few great meals out and about Boston.  I didn’t want to be rude, so I’m going to share them with you.

Thelonious Monkfish

Central Square area Cambridge, MA

Asian Fusion (self described)

The food here is great.  The service is OK. The pricing is decent.  Honestly, I’d wait a couple months so they can get their act together before I’d truly recommend going here.  Again, the food we got was amazing, though!  I got drunken noodles which were wicked good. The fact their place settings had no forks and only chopsticks was neat, too.  Warning! Warning!  This is a dry establishment!

Zoup!

Across from City Hall Boston, MA

Soup, Salad, Sandwich

This place was great.  Their soup variety was very varied and the sandwiches were great.  And any place that has Cherry Coke at their fountain is OK in my blog.  We normally shy away from chains, but this place is good.

I got a Greek chicken wrap and Lobster Bisque.  I love lobster bisque and this one did not disappoint.  The price is pretty good… it was $8 for the cup of soup and half a sandwich.

University House of Pizza (UHOP)

Across from the MFA Boston, MA

Pizza, subs, some Greek and Mid Eastern

I took Sophie here before we went to the MFA recently.  It’s great because the food is quick, cheap and for the money it’s really good.  The guys working there are nice as well.  This time she got a wrap with falafel and hummus which was ridiculously good and I got a spinach and feta calzone which was also delicious.

Bukowski Tavern

Innman Square Cambridge, MA

Bar food and more

Bukowski’s is a favorite.  I normally go to the one in the Back Bay near the Hynes, but this was my first time going to the one in Cambridge.  The atmosphere in this place is great.  The bar itself is not over done, the wait staff is great and it usually attracts a good (personality wise) crowd.  I called this place’s menu “bar food and more” because it’s really all over the place.  And the beer selection is pretty good (of course I gave up beer for Lent).  As a note… the one in Back Bay doesn’t serve hard liquor.  Also, both places are cash only.

The other night I ordered their “Walker, Texas Ranger” sandwich.  I was even able to order it with a mostly straight face (I don’t think I ever truly have a straight face).  It was amazing!  BBQ beef brisket, a spiced mayo, jalapeno relish, monterey jack cheese on texas toast.  It was wicked good.  Soph got a delicious tomato bisque in a bread bowl (which comes at no cost if you want it).  I paired my sandwich with a Jameson and ginger ale.

Stelio’s

North Billerica, MA

Italian, Seafood, American and Mediterranean

About 20 to 30 minutes north of Boston up in the Valley is Billerica.  I went here today with some family.  The menu has a little bit of everything for everyone.  Fried chicken? Check.  Salmon? Check.  Stuffed grape leaves? Check.  I got one of their specials today which was a swordfish kabob with rice.  Stelio’s is great because almost every meal comes with a soup or a salad.  Their seafood chowder was ok but the main course was very good.  Swordfish is tricky to prepare and they did a great job.  Each of their portions is huge and we all brought leftovers back with us!

And that’s what this guy’s been eating lately (that didn’t suck).

~ by NJC on March 14, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
