Minestrone Soup

I asked the other day, “what soup should I make?”  And the resounding answer was minestrone.  By resounding I mean Sophie suggested it and I liked the idea.  I used the crockpot and it was really, really easy to make.  The most effort required was in chopping up the veggies.

Here’s what we need:

  • chicken broth. (or beef or veggie… dealer’s choice)
  • diced tomatoes. (I used one 28 oz can)
  • cannellini beans. (I used 4 cans… you can use the dry beans, but beware they will absorb more broth!)
  • veggies. (I added carrots, celery and peppers)
  • diced onions.
  • garlic powder, pepper, and whatever spices you want.
  • packet of pesto sauce mix. (if you want to make your own pesto, be my guest, but for this use I didn’t feel like it)
  • olive oil.
  • pasta. (or rice)

This is a two night process to make it the way I did.  Step number one is to put your broth in the crockpot.  Add in the amount of beans you want.  You don’t have to use the beans I used if you have another favorite.  Put the beans in a saucepan with some broth and bring to a boil and then simmer for a little while.  After that, put this mixture into the crockpot.

While the beans are meeting the broth, empty the can of diced tomatoes into a sauce pan big enough to hold the tomatoes and some broth (I used the same as I use for the beans).  Pour in some broth… just enough to cover the tomatoes.  I mixed the pesto mix in a bowl with a little bit of water and oil before dumping it in the sauce pan.  Simmer the broth and tomatoes for a few minutes.  Be sure to stir to keep anything from sticking.

If you are coordinated enough, while the tomatoes, pesto and broth are simmering you can get started on the onions.  After dicing up the onions, fry ’em up in a frying pan with a little oil and garlic powder.  Don’t add too much oil – you want to just dump the entire pan into the crockpot.  If you add too much oil then you’ll have Exxon Valdez brand minestrone.

After the tomatoes were simmering for a while and the onions are fried up, mix it all together into the crockpot.  I barely had enough space – so be careful!

Set the crockpot to low or warm for the night.  Fight the urge to stay up all night stirring and smelling the deliciousness.  I had to have a test taste at this stage and it was good already!

The good news is that all the hard work is done the first night.  On the second day, all you need to do is dice up all the other veggies you want to add about five or so hours before you want to eat the soup.  You can adjust that based on how mushy you want your veggies.  I diced up peppers and cut up carrots and celery.  Toss all the veggies in the crockpot and put the crockpot on low until supper time.  A little bit before supper time I cranked the soup up to high so it was nice and warm.

Add some nice Italian bread and enjoy!

~ by NJC on February 5, 2011.

2 Responses to “Minestrone Soup”

  1. The soup looks amazing (pic borders look nice too)!!!

Leave a Reply

 
