Thanksgiving gravy better late than never

I realize it’s been a while since I last updated this.  I apologize!  I also figure that not many of you out there noticed or cared (Thanks Raven for noticing!)

Anyway, it’s my job for family functions to make the gravy.  Apparently it’s a God given talent and my family really likes it.  I know it’s not easy to make gravy – especially thick gravy – so I wanted to share my process with you all.

Ingredients for gravy:

  • Gravy master.
  • Flour.
  • Bell’s Seasoning.
  • Pepper.
  • Salt.
  • Packet of brown gravy (if you want to cheat, it’s ok)
  • Mixing device (for flour and water)
  • Turkey drippings
  • Potato water (optional… I’ll explain later)

The first step is to mix the contents of the gravy packet with the water.  Hopefully this is the easiest step for you to follow since the directions are on the packet.

After the packet gravy has started, you can mix some flour and water in the mixing device.

I mix flour, water Bell’s seasoning, Gravy Master, salt and pepper.  Shake it up so it is mixed well.  You can always add water  so don’t worry about making it too thick at first.  Keep adding the flour and water mix with the spices to taste.

Take the turkey drippings out of the pan and mix this into the gravy.  It’s up to you whether or not you want to add the chunks and bits of turkey that are in the dripping.  I like to add as many of those chunks and bits as I can scrape up.

While adding the ingredients, keep the gravy warm and bubbling.  The boiling and bubbling helps to thicken up the gravy.  Keep adding more of the ingredients until you have the consistency and quantity you want.

Keep the gravy bubbling to thicken it up.  I keep the gravy thick until the end when I’ll water if I need to make it a little soupier.

~ by NJC on December 8, 2010.

One Response to “Thanksgiving gravy better late than never”

  1. Haha, it’s my job to notice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
