Bruschetta

I promise that this is an Italian food post that will not contain a link to a scene from Goodfellas.  I promise!  This is another tease for a future meal.  I made bruschetta today for a family meal tomorrow.

Bruschetta is a simple recipe that requires simple ingredients.  The good news is that it looks like it’s way harder to make!  The ingredients and process is easy, but it can be time consuming.

What you’ll need:

  • Tomatoes.  I used six.  I figured one tomato per person, roughly.
  • Basil.  I used fresh basil, but you could use the basil spice.  It’s not required, but basil (especially fresh) makes it about a million times better.
  • Olive oil.
  • Vinegar.  I used rice vinegar.
  • Parsley.  Mostly for looks.
  • Garlic powder. To taste (option, of course).
  • Minced garlic not pictured.
  • Bread to put the topping on.

The first step is to deal with the tomatoes.  Make sure you wash them as you won’t be skinning them.  (I’ve heard some people skin them – if you want to, more power to you!).

To wash them, all I do is run them under water and give them the baseball rub.

After they’re washed, dice ’em up.  This will take a while, as to me, good bruschetta has finely diced tomatoes.

As you can tell in the picture, I separate the “insides” of the tomato from the rest of it.

After the tomatoes are diced up, toss ’em in your mixing bowl.

Now it’s on to the basil.  Rinse the basil gently under some water.  Shake off the excess and lay them on the cutting board to dry them some more.

They don’t need to be bone dry, but you’re not making basil soup, either.

After they are dry, chop and dice them up pretty fine.  It’s up to you, but I don’t like to get big chunks of basil in each bite.  I want them to disperse evenly in the final mix.

After your two main ingredients are diced and chopped, you can mix  them in your mixing bowl.

I cut half of my tomatoes, and mixed half of my basil.  Then I cut the other half and so on.  It makes it a little easier to mix, I thought.  Or maybe that was just my OCD?

After the tomatoes and basil are mixed, it’s time to move on to the more liquid part of the bruschetta.  Now, if you are satisfied with out it is right now – that’s ok, too!

I spooned the minced garlic in a little bit by a little bit.  Spoon some over in that side of the bowl, some on that side.  I want it to mix in evenly.  Don’t be afraid to put a generous amount in, the oil and vinegar will help keep that flavor in check.  Besides who has Italian food and doesn’t expect a little bit of a garlic flavor?

After your garlic is in, it’s time for the rest.

In a bowl, mix some oil (a little bit.. I think I used 3/4 of a shot for all 6 tomatoes), some vinegar (a spoonful to taste), and whatever spices you want.  I used garlic powder and parsley.  If your audience will like it you could add pepper, or a bit of salt.

Once you add in your bowl of oil and spices, mix it all up.  And… that’s it!  It’s wicked easy to make but looks pretty fancy.

Now a couple hints and tips!

First, if you are making this for a date, don’t add any (or very little) garlic.  Nothing says “let’s make out” like a heaping dose of garlic breath.

Second, if you go the fresh basil route, you can keep the stems as a way to make your kitchen smell nice.  Fresh basil has an amazing scent and it’s a shame to waste it.  Toss the stems in the bowl and people will think you’re a real chef.

At any rate, after the topping is all made, it’s time for a test taste.  I need to make sure it’s not poisonous and people will like it, right?  I put some on top of an English muffin to try it out.  This will be a great appetizer tomorrow!

~ by NJC on October 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “Bruschetta”

  1. This is a great post, I LOVE bruschetta. FYI those tomatoes are diced so perfectly, I’m pretty impressed.

  2. Thanks! I have to admit I think this is probably the “fanciest” looking thing I’ve posted on here. The dicing is largely a direct result of my borderline OCD about some things, but I appreciate the compliment (and I’m glad at least someone appreciates it!)

Leave a Reply

 
