Test to see if you really are from Boston

Well, I showed you all how I can tell when you are a tourist in the city.  Now I’ll give you a simple test to give people that claim to be from Boston.

If you are from the area you should be able to:

  • Point out the Prudential Center.  Not only that, but you will more than likely call it the “Pru”
  • Find a T station on the corresponding line the person is asking for.  Note!  I can find you a green line station, but as it’s the only line that splits (other than the red line’s Mattapan split, but that’s different) I can’t tell you what line each stop is.   Note!  Anyone calling it the MBTA is not from the area.
  • Finish the phrase: “And Havlicek stole the ball!
  • You know which periods “Welcome To The Jungle” and “Baba O’Reilly” are played at the Gahden at Bruins games.
  • Finish the phrase: “A swing and a ground ball.  Stabbed by Foulke…”
  • Tell me what the blinking lights atop the Hancock mean.
  • Show someone the location of the REAL Cheers, but you don’t care that it’s there.
  • Know the significance of the following numbers: 1, 4, 6, 8, 8, 14,  and 27.
  • Know the significance of the following numbers: 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 15, 24 and 77.
  • You know who the greatest hitter in baseball was.

More to come, I promise!  But I need to jet, as the Celts have their opener in an hour and I gotta drive to my buddy’s place!

How many can you get right without looking online? 😉

~ by NJC on October 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
