Epitome of Man Food.

It was warm today, so I got to put the snowboard racks on my car, clean the windows.  However, there’s no better way to take advantage of a mild fall day than to use the grill.  What better to grill than steak?  Well, maybe steak and veggies.

This meal will take a little advanced prep to do it right.  I try to marinate (wet or dry) as early as possible.

Ingredients:

  • Steak.  Whatever cut you want.
  • Rub / marinade.  (I’ll list the ingredients for mine)
  • Garlic powder.
  • Black pepper.
  • Fresh pepper.
  • Onion.
  • Tomato.

Like I said, this one will require a little bit of planning and prep work.

First, earlier in the day you need to prep your steak.  I mixed garlic powder and ground pepper, and put that on the steak.  You can pretty season your steak with whatever you want.  I like garlic powder, pepper and salt (or a combo).  You can also use a bit of Italian dressing, too.  Rub the seasoning in and then put it in a tupperware until it’s ready to grill.  I leave it in the refrigerator until maybe about two hours before I intend to cook.  I don’t like putting cold meat on the grill.

I’m not going to dignify the existence of gas grills.  Therefore, you need to get your coals ready.  I like to set them up in a pyramid before I light them.  Make sure there’s enough coals to ensure an evenly heated cooking surface on your grill.

After the coals are lit, you can start getting your veggies ready.  Today I wanted tomatoes and peppers.  Man Food, Sr. was also sharing the meal with me and he wanted onions.  I do not like big chunks of onions in the manner in which you’re going to see!

It’s up to you how you want to cut up your veggies.

When I grill veggies, I like to put a little oil based dressing on them.  Today, I used olive oil with some garlic powder and parsley.  The garlic is for taste, the parsley more for looks.

I put the sliced veggies into a pie plate and then drizzle the veggies with the oil dressing.

Repeat this for all the veggies you chose to grill.

As a note, “softer” veggies like the tomatoes don’t need as much dressing or as much time on the grill as veggies like onions or peppers would.  You don’t want the veggies to get oil logged and end up just getting soft and mushy.

Now, hopefully while you were doing that, the charcoals turned that beautiful ashed over white with a little bit of an orange glow they turn when they are ready.

Once your grill is ready, it’s time to load it up!

Grilling steak is different than chicken, pork or sausages.  You only want to flip the steaks once!  The steaks I grilled were fairly thin, so I knew they wouldn’t take long.  Man Food, Sr’s took five minutes for each side.  (He likes his steaks still moo-ing).  My steak was left on for about 7 minutes per side.

If you are fancy (or bored) you can play with the grill lines.  That’s up to you.  The only time you’re allowed to flip the steaks more than once is if you are going for gold and trying to get that perfect cross hatch grill lines.

Steak is also a bit funny because it’s one of the few meats I cook on the grill that takes less time than the veggies!  Of course, that’s also dependent on how you want your meat and veggies cooked.

For me, the steaks were on the grill for 10 -15 minutes where as the veggies were on there for a few more minutes.

The onions were cooked until the oil they were in was bubbling for a while.  The tomatoes had much less oil and were cooked until the peppers were done.  This guy likes his peppers a happy medium between mushy gross and raw.

I should have turned off the flash when I took the close up!  I’m using a simple point and shoot for most of these pictures, and I never noticed how much the flash is ill suited for many settings until taking pictures in my kitchen.   Oh well, I bought the camera because it’s waterproof, shockproof and freeze proof – there’s always trade offs.

And of course, what steak is complete without a red wine?  I would share with you what kind of wine I had – but I really don’t know!  I was going to grab a beer, but then I remembered I had some red wine which my uncle had made.  I don’t know what kind it is, but I do know that it’s impossible to only have one glass!

~ by NJC on October 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
