Sweet Teriyaki Steak.

Well, it’s hard to do something fun with beef on the stove.  I love spring and summer because you get to cook steak right.  That being said, I needed some beef.  It was hockey night here in Boston as the B’s opened up the season at the Gahden against #8 and the Caps.   To say they took care of business is an understatement.  The Bruins shut down Ovechkin and the rest of the Caps (Timmy robbed Knuble at least three or four times, too).

This meal provided me with a solid base for a night of drinking, which was nice.  After I started I got a little nervous it could be a dangerous combination.  But after a few rounds at Lir on Boylston and then a couple more at Bukowski’s on Dalton I was no worse for the wear (stomach wise!).  It was a great night for Octoberfests – both Sam Adams and some other brand (I couldn’t read the tap in the dark bar, but I saw it was an  Octoberfest).

At any rate, stuff you’ll need: 

  • Rice or pasta.  I chose rice tonight.
  • Veggies.  Your choice.
  • Orange juice
  • Soy sauce.
  • Teriyaki sauce.  I actually didn’t have any!  It’s o.k. if you don’t.
  • Gravy master (not pictured, not required)
  • Ginger (optional)
  • Brown sugar.
  • Butter (works better for sauces than oil)
  • Steak / Beef.  You can use pork or chicken, too.  Beef makes it easier to make sauces and gravies as far as I’m concerned, though.
  • Flour.  This’ll thicken up the sauce.
  • Frying / sauteeing pan.  My food vocab is not up to Martha Stewart levels yet.
  • Pot for the rice or pasta.
  • The obligatory spatula!
  • Some sort of closes tupperware, etc to premix some of the sauce ingredients (not required but a good idea!)

The first step is either to cut the meat or prep the rice or pasta.  For the sake of argument, we’ll say make the rice, first.  And I’m sorry if you looked to this blog for a how to on how to make Minute Rice.  If you can’t follow the directions on the box…

Now that the rice is on it’s way to getting made, let’s cut the meat.  How big or small you cut is your choice.  For teriyaki I don’t like when the pieces are too small since you’ll need to remove the meat from the pan after it’s cooked in order to make the sauce.  I don’t want the chunks too big either since you’ll be mixing everything together when it’s all finished.  Also, now is a good time to dice up any veggies that may need dicing.  If you’re using frozen veggies then you’re good to go.

As a side note, you should have at least two cutting boards in your kitchen.  It’s pretty common practice to have one board for meats and one board for fruit, veggies, bread, etc.

After you get the meat cut, put a little bit of butter in your pan.  Not a ton, just enough so the steak doesn’t stick to the pan.  Just don’t make beef and butter soup!

Try to have the beef in a single layer on the  pan, with enough butter around it.

Keep the pan low at first, you don’t want to burn the meat or have it stick to the pan.  It’s easier to raise the heat and take the heat out of the pan.  On my stove it’s between medium-low to medium.

When the steak is no longer red on the outside and starts to turn that awful gray color that  pan fried steak turns you’re done cooking the meat.

After the meat is cooked, take it out of the pan you cooked it in.  Leave all the buttery sauce stuff that’s left.

Leave all the little bits of steak goodness in there too.  See those little clingers up top?  Yeah, that’s the good stuff.

Put the meat on a plate, and put it aside for now.  I put a pie plate over the plate and put it all in the microwave to keep it warmer.

This mix that’s left over is the basis for your sauce.

With the mixing device we’ll start making the best part of this meal – the sauce.  As I describe what I do, keep  in mind that if you want it spicier you can add other ingredients.  If you don’t want to do it teriyaki style you can skip all that and just use Gravy Master, flour, water, etc.  I’ll do a feature on gravy at some point.  Not to sidetrack or toot my own horn, but I make some damn good gravy.

Anyway, in the mixing device add some water, soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, ginger and orange juice.  Feel free to sub in and out what you want.  I won’t give amounts because 1) I don’t measure 2) it’s up to you if you want it sweeter or hotter, etc.  The amount to the right is what I start with.   After you put everything in the mixer, shake it up to mix it up.

Pour that mix into the pan with the buttery sauce starting mix.  I turn the heat up on the burner a little bit when I make the sauce.  On my stove I went from medium to medium high at it’s hottest.

After you pour the initial batch of mix in.  Make another, but start with some flour, and add a little soy sauce, Gravy Master etc.  Shake it up again.  Make sure your lid doesn’t come off and also, be careful when you open it… sometimes the pressure can build up!  It helps sometimes after a few shakes to purge that pressure.

Stir the sauce.  Eventually you’ll see it bubbling.  This is part of the thickening process.  If you don’t want it thick, add less flour.  Always start off with a little and add more if you want.  To add more flour, mix it with water (and spices if you want) in your mixer first.  If you dump flour into the pan it’ll just clump up and be pretty freaking gross.

Don’t worry about getting the sauce right at first.  I know it’s tough and it took me a few times before I was able to get the thickness I wanted (that’s what she said?  Sorry, I can’t help it)  Start off with only a little bit of flour at first.  Flour-y sauce or gravy is also pretty freaking gross.

After the sauce is done, lower the heat and toss in your veggies.  I don’t cook the frozen veggies first.  I think it helps water down the sauce a little to thin it out and I also just… don’t.  Let the veggies simmer in the sauce and soak up all that flavored goodness.  Mix it all up and stir it to keep stuff from clumping or sticking.

Check the frozen veggies to see when they aren’t frozen and hard.  I like my carrots kinda crunchy when cooked so I don’t let them get mushy.

After a few minutes, you can throw the meat back in.  It’ll let the meat soak up some goodness and also warm it back up again.

Once it’s all mixed back up together and the veggies are as cooked as you want them, it’s ready.

Obviously like any food, how you present it and eat it is up to you.  I really like to put the rice on the bottom of the bowl and scoop the meat and sauce on top of the rice and then mixing it up.

If you made a smaller amount of meat and sauce you can mix that with the rice right in the pan, too.

Remember!  You can take this basic recipe and mix and match and make it a spicier teriyaki, a sweeter teriyaki or make a Thanksgiving style gravy with it instead.  The steps are the same, the flour and mixing is the same – the flavor just depends on the other ingredients.

~ by NJC on October 22, 2010.

2 Responses to “Sweet Teriyaki Steak.”

  1. Haha, I love the Peaches video. Movin’ to the country gonna eat a lot of peaches…Peaches Come From a Can! haha ;-)….the Teriyaki steak looks great Nick!

  2. very nicely done, your teriyaki looks delicious! Great advice about the cutting boards!

Leave a Reply

 
