Breakfast, too.

I lied.  Sort of.  This is breakfast food, but I definitely made this for lunch.  And it wasn’t even an early lunch it was 1:30 in the afternoon.  You may be thinking to yourself, “but it’s a weekday, how are you home to make lunch?”  Well, I’m unemployed and thanks for bringing it up!  That just means I get to hit up mountain bike trails during the day with no one on them and take my bike on the subway (can’t do that during rush hour).  Anyway, breakfast for lunch!

I made home fries today.  And for your education I made two different types.

What you’ll need:

  • Potato(es)
  • Frying pan
  • Potato peeler
  • oil or butter
  • Salt and pepper (or whatever seasoning you want)
  • egg (for one of the styles)

As with any recipe with potatoes, clean them first.   I use a brush, but you can rub them like baseballs under running water with your hands if you don’t have a brush.

Peel the skin off the potatoes.  Now, it’s up to you if you want to keep them.  Obviously the skin is edible but whether you choose to use them or not is entirely a personal decision.  It’s so personal I won’t even ask you if you did or did not use them.  I promise – but I admit I’ll be a little curious.

Cut the potatoes using the peeler.  Use the peeler in the same fashion you would use it to peel the skin off potatoes, cucumbers, etc.  Just keep peeling until there’s nothing left!  Try to rotate the potato so you don’t get big flat peels, but skinnier ones.  For one person, one potato should be enough.  I used two for a few reasons.  First, at heart I’m a fat kid.  Second, I was making it for lunch.  Thirdly, I was celebrating (another) Yankees ALCS loss to the Rangers and a wicked big Bruins win over the Capitals.  Fourthly, one of my favorite hockey players of all time, Milan Lucic, scored his second career Gordie Howe hat trick in that win (that’s a goal, assist and fight).   And the Phillies lost too – any time any New York or Philadephia team loses is a time for celebration.  At any rate, is that potato cut up yet?  If you want to add peppers or onions, etc, chop those up now, too.

After the potato is peeled, it’s time to get the frying pan ready.  As with most recipes, to get the pan ready put a little bit of butter or oil in the pan.  Turn the burner on, starting low and working your way up, and melt the butter.

First let’s do the easier of the two styles. For this one, all you need to do is put the peelings into the frying pan.  Try to spread them  out evenly across the whole pan.  Add in your salt and pepper or whatever you want to use.  I put salt, black pepper and cayenne pepper in mine.  If you wanted to add chopped peppers, onions, sausage, or whatever now is the time to toss that in, too.  Make sure you keep an eye on things and add butter if the potatoes are sticking to the pan.  I use a spatula to mix the ingredients around.  I find it way easier than trying to use a wooden spoon or anything else.  The potatoes will turn a little brown, but I usually do not crisp them much when cooked in this fashion.

You want crispy home fries?  I understand and that’s why I whipped up the other style of fries, too.

This is where the eggs come in.  If you want the home fries to be crispy and stick together to form more of a patty, this recipe is what you want.  Crack the egg and whip it up like you would for scrambled eggs.  Sorry, I don’t have a picture since it was an 11th hour decision to make them this way, too.  Just crack the egg in a bowl and beat it with a fork.   Make sure the yoke is cracked and the mixture is yellow.  If you want, by all means take the yoke out and only use egg white if you want.

Now, take the potato peels and drench them in the egg mix.  Just take a handful and put them in the egg mix bowl.  Take the handful out and let the extra egg drip off into the bowl and then put the handful in the prepped frying pan.  The egg will keep the potato peels together more and will also crisp up a bit.  You can use a spatula to flip it after you give each side a few minutes to cook and fry up.  When both sides are brown you are good to go.

For both styles, make sure you scrape off the goodies that get stuck to the pan while the pan is hot.  Not only will it make clean up easier, but my gosh those are tasty little nuggets of buttery goodness.

Here’s the non egg result:

And the with eggs result:

If this recipe didn’t illustrate the fact that I do not cook exceptionally health conscious food I don’t know what will!

~ by NJC on October 20, 2010.

3 Responses to “Breakfast, too.”

  1. Looks good! You’ve been tagged by the way: http://ravienomnoms.wordpress.com/2010/10/21/magic-soup/

  2. I really like your site, I’m always looking for how to’s in the kitchen. I can’t wait to read more.

Leave a Reply

 
